Research · Transaction coordinator careers, pay and licensing

Transaction coordinator pay per file: $300 to $550 a side, and where the $542 average really comes from

One side of a contract-to-close file pays $300 to $550 on the published US rate cards, and $400 is the price more cards pick than any other. Here is every card, what each one charges when a file dies, what agents say they actually pay, and why the $542 national average online is one company's unsourced table.

What do transaction coordinators charge per file?

The table is every US coordination company or independent TC we could find with a price on its own website: 21 cards. Twenty of them put a one-side price on their pricing page, and the spread runs from $300 at Notable Transactions in Oklahoma to $550 at Contract to Close TC in San Diego and The Transaction Pros. The median is $400, and five cards sit exactly there. The only other reading of these cards, jamilacademy.com's ten in September 2026, landed in the same place at $300 to $500 a side.

Treat the numbers as what the companies that publish a price ask for. National virtual firms are over-represented, and the coordinator who quotes by phone or bills by the hour is missing. Nobody surveys those.

Published US transaction coordinator rate cards, cheapest one-side price first

WhoPer file (one side / both sides)If the file doesn't close
Notable Transactions (Oklahoma)$300 one side. $450 both.No close, no fee.
Quill (nationwide)$350 flat, one side or both. First file free.No close, no fee.
SimplyTC (nationwide)$350 plus $5 processing. $500 in California. Both sides add $250.Setup fee is non-refundable. The balance is waived as a courtesy.
Tri County Realty Services (Florida)$375, one side or both.Paid only on a closing.
Freedom Real Estate Services (Texas, twelve states)$395 a side. Was $375 in September.Waived if it doesn't close.
Transactly (nationwide)$399 pay-as-you-go. $339 to $379 a file on its Elite plans.Not stated. Assume the fee is owed.
CTC Transaction Coordinators$400 one side. $700 both.$50 at submission, kept. Balance waived if the contract terminates.
Empower Transactions (most states)$400. $500 in California. $500 monthly minimum.Billed as files close. The monthly minimum runs either way.
Colorado Transaction Coordinator (Colorado)$400 one side. $700 both. Listing included.No fee if it terminates. Short sales keep a $200 setup fee.
CcMe Transactions$400 one side. $600 both.Waived if it cancels before closing.
Star Closers (Florida)$400 to $500 one side. $500 to $650 both.$50 may be due at opening. Prorated on cancellation. Full fee in closing week.
AgentUp (FL, VA, MD, MI, WA and the DC area)From $399 a file, on its blog. The product page shows no price.No close, no pay. $99 deposit credited to the first completed order.
Joy in Chaos Transactions (Missouri, Arkansas, Tennessee)$450 one side. $800 both.No closing, no fee.
TransactionCoordinator.com (nationwide)Flat $450 a transaction. Its FAQ says ask for a quote.No close, no fee.
Reign TC (Las Vegas)$495 a side. $795 both. $275 new build or land.No close, no fee. Upfront items excepted.
Real Estate Paper Pushers (nationwide)$499 either side. $699 both, or FSBO.No fee if it fails to close, for any reason.
Gold Key TC (nationwide)$499 a closing, pay as you go.Refunded as a credit toward the next file.
Simply Closed (49 states)From $500 a side. From $900 both.No fee in most cases. Listing work already done may be billed.
Signature TC (Los Angeles)$500 one side. $750 both. TC Plus $700 and $900.Not stated. Assume the fee is owed.
Contract to Close TC (San Diego)$550 one side. $600 both.$0 cancellation fee.
The Transaction Pros$550 a side. $695 both. The page title still says $350.$75 at order. Prorated on cancellation. Full fee in closing week.
Prices checked October 2026. AgentUp's price is from its own blog post, because its product page shows none.

Price your own card at $400 a side. It is the middle of the market that publishes, the figure five cards chose, and the range one r/realtors reply gave for most TCs and TC companies: $350 to $450 a file. Go to $450 or $500 once you have a track record. In California add $100 to $150, because the two cards that price the state separately do.

How much more for both sides, a listing, or a compliance check?

Fifteen cards publish a price for working both sides of the same deal. The spread is $350 to $900 and the median is $695. Quill and Tri County Realty Services charge the same whether you hold one side or both. Nine of the fifteen charge one and a half to 1.8 times the single-side fee, which is where $700 on a $400 card comes from. Charge $700.

Listing-only coordination is priced separately on eight cards, from Reign TC's $95 pre-listing setup to $350 at Simply Closed and Signature TC, and Colorado Transaction Coordinator folds it into the file fee. Compliance-only review, where you check an agent's finished file instead of running it, appears on three cards at $150, $200 and $350. The only regional premium anyone publishes is California: Empower Transactions adds $100 and SimplyTC adds $150.

Should you offer no close, no fee?

Yes. Thirteen of the 21 cards waive the contract-to-close fee when the file dies, and an agent reading your card will expect it. The question is how much of the risk you keep. Three cards take a deposit first and waive or prorate the rest: CTC Transaction Coordinators collect $50 when the file is submitted, Star Closers $50 at opening and The Transaction Pros $75 at order. Star Closers and The Transaction Pros also charge the full fee if the deal falls apart in closing week, when the work is done. Gold Key TC refunds a dead file as a credit against the next one.

Star Closers' Pricing and Payment Structure section: a $50 administrative fee may be due at file opening, the remaining coordination fee is paid at closing, fees are prorated if a transaction cancels, and the full fee applies if cancellation occurs during the week of closing
The deposit model on Star Closers' card: $50 at opening, the rest at closing, and the full fee if it dies in closing week. thestarclosers.com, October 2026.

SimplyTC bills at opening and at closing, calls the setup fee non-refundable and treats any waiver of the balance as a courtesy. Transactly and Signature TC say nothing about a dead file. Empower bills as files close, but its $500 monthly minimum runs whether you have a file open or not. TC Track, which sells TC software, says the cancelled-file charge it sees most often is 50 to 100 percent of the fee, depending on how far the file got.

Copy the deposit model. Take $50 at opening and the balance at closing, and charge the full fee if it cancels in closing week. You stay level with the no-close cards, and the file that dies at inspection still pays for the hours you put in. The other way to protect a flat fee is to spend fewer hours on each file. DeedSpring reads the executed contract into the file's deadlines and sends the chases for you, from $25 a closing, which is about 6% of a $400 fee.

Do rate cards move?

Yes, inside weeks. Freedom Real Estate Services was $375 a side in September 2026 and $395 a month later. AgentUp priced its own coordination from $299 a file in March 2025 and from $399 by that December, with listing coordination going from $199 to $249, which is why third-party guides quote both. The TC Advantage charged $600 a side and $800 for both as recently as April 2026. By October its domain returned an error page, and AgentUp's and Stealth Agents' provider lists still carried it.

Some cards also disagree with themselves. Empower's service page says no long-term contract, and its terms of service set an initial term of twelve months, ending on 30 days' written notice from either side, with contract-to-close fees collected on the closing date. SimplyTC's FAQ splits a $350 file into $100 at opening and $150 at closing, which does not add up, and splits California's $500 into $375 and $250, which adds up to more. The Transaction Pros' page title still says $350 a transaction above a price list that says $550. TransactionCoordinator.com's home page sells a flat $450 and its FAQ says contact us for a quote. Simply Closed's title says rates from $350, which is its listing and compliance rate. Contract to close there starts at $500. Read the whole page before you quote a competitor's number to a client.

What do agents say they actually pay?

Published cards are the asking price. The paying price comes from agents and coordinators on r/realtors. A September 2021 thread collected more than twenty figures: $150 a side in Cincinnati, $275 to $350 a file in Missouri, $300 in southeast Tennessee, $299 a closing in Florida, $400 to $500 in Seattle and around $500 a closed file in the San Francisco Bay Area. One agent had paid $220 for basic document collection and $375 for the buyer side or $500 for the listing side with full service. Replies in 2024 and 2025 add $300 a file, a trainee's $250 a contract rising to $500 once trained, and Empower at $400, or $500 in California, which matches its card.

In-house is cheaper. The office and brokerage figures in the same thread are $200 to $250 a deal, in one case on top of a $40,000 salary. A coordinator who works for one team put it this way in July 2025:

“I'm on track to clear 80K just from the TC business this year. I charge between 400-500 per closed file.”

— u/beernburgers, r/realtors, · Source

Every one of those figures sits inside the published band.

Is $542 really the national average?

No. Search for an average transaction coordinator fee and $542 keeps coming back. It comes from one table on AgentUp's pricing post, headed Average Regional Transaction Coordinator Prices: New York $750, Los Angeles $650, Seattle $550, Atlanta $500, Denver $450, Chicago $350, and an Average Metro Price of $542, which is the mean of those six numbers. Nothing on the page says where the six came from, and the page itself calls them estimates. The table has been there since the post's first edition in February 2025 and was republished unchanged under a 2026 heading that December.

AgentUp's table of average per-file transaction coordinator prices by metropolitan region: New York $750, Atlanta $500, Chicago $350, Los Angeles $650, Seattle $550, Denver $450, and an Average Metro Price of $542
The whole source of the $542 figure: six metros, no sample, no method, no date. AgentUp's pricing post, October 2026.

From there it travelled. DocJacket's salary guide printed the same rows in June 2025 as 2025 market data, relabelled the last row National Average, and did not name AgentUp. Stealth Agents reprinted it in May 2026 as a national average, cited “Source: AgentUp, 2025”, and worked out that a retainer pays for itself after two closings at $542. In September 2026 Saad Jamil at jamilacademy.com traced the table back to AgentUp, pointed out that it has no citation, method, sample size or date, and noted that the AgentUp 2025 survey another vendor cites does not exist.

We found nothing to contradict him, and no fee survey from the National Association of Realtors or any state association. The nearest thing to a method is Nekst's 2023 compilation of fees that coordinators had posted on Facebook, $325 to $600 a file with no sample size. ReBillion's 2026 guide adds a different unsourced table with a national average of $250 to $500. Vendor ranges agree with each other because everyone reads the same cards.

What a file involves also changes at the state line: the contract, who closes and what an unlicensed TC may do. Our TCs by state pages set that out state by state, starting with Texas.

Where DeedSpring fits for a coordinator paid per file

On a flat fee, your pay per hour is set by how many hours a file eats, and most of those hours go on reading the contract, setting the dates and chasing people for things they promised. DeedSpring does that part. Upload the executed contract and it reads the price, deposits, contingencies and dates into deadlines on the file. It checks every open file every hour, flags what is slipping, and drafts the chases and client updates for you to send. A coordination business runs on it the way a brokerage does: each client brokerage or team is a team, their agents sit on the roster as roster-only members, and Transaction coordinator is one of the five roles.

DeedSpring's Closings page listing two files in flight with their next milestone and the reason each needs attention, one closed file and one marked Fell through
Every open file on one page, sorted by what needs attention first. The file that fell through is right there too.

Starter is $15 a month for one closing a month. Standard is $25 a closing at one to four closings a month, $22 at five to nine, $20 at ten to nineteen and $19 at twenty or more, with unlimited teammates and unused closings rolling over. Both are month to month, and a closing counts when you open it.

New TC checklists, templates and deadline guides

Get a short note by email when we publish one.

Now and then, a short note on transaction coordination from DeedSpring. Reply to any of them to stop.

Explainer · Transaction coordinator careers, pay and licensing

Is a transaction coordinator a 1099 contractor or a W-2 employee? What the IRS has ruled

A TC the firm pays by the hour, trains, schedules and seats at its own desk is a W-2 employee, and the IRS has said so twice. Here is the control test the IRS uses, why a real estate license does not change the answer, and which state regulators say an unlicensed assistant's pay cannot ride on the closing.