Transaction coordinator · Colorado

Transaction coordinator in Colorado: CBS1 deadlines, CP-20 and costs

For Colorado brokers: the mandatory CBS1 and its deadline table, the Commission's REAP rules, how closing and the documentary fee work, Denver and Colorado Springs figures, and what coordinators charge.

DeedSpring makes transaction-coordination software and publishes this guide. It has no office in Colorado. Agents use it online, wherever they work.

Colorado at a glance

Purchase contract
CBS1, mandatory from January 1, 2026
Deadline defaults
None; a blank or N/A deadline deletes the provision
TC rules
Commission Position CP-20 on REAPs, revised Aug. 4, 2026
Documentary fee
1 cent per $100 of consideration over $500
Statewide median, Sept. 2026
$540,000, down 1.6% year on year
Colorado Springs median, Sept. 2026
$479,000 single-family and patio
Published TC price
$400 per side, $700 both sides (two firms)

What does a transaction coordinator do in Colorado?

A Colorado transaction coordinator manages a sale from mutual execution of the contract to closing. Every residential resale in the state runs on one form: the CBS1 Contract to Buy and Sell Real Estate (Residential), which the Colorado Real Estate Commission promulgates. The current version was adopted on August 5, 2025 and became mandatory on January 1, 2026. Users can't modify the printed text except as the Commission's broker rules allow.

That makes Colorado coordination unusually consistent from Grand Junction to Pueblo. The same section numbers, the same deadline names and the same notice rules apply on every file. What changes from deal to deal is the dates the brokers write into the deadline table, and that table is long.

Does a transaction coordinator need a license in Colorado?

No license is required for clerical coordination, but the Commission has said exactly where the line sits. Its position statement CP-20, revised August 4, 2026, calls coordinators Real Estate Administrative Professionals, or REAPs, and names transaction coordinators in the definition.

An unlicensed REAP, or a licensed one without a brokerage relationship, may:

  • complete forms as a scrivener when a broker has prepared and directed them
  • order title commitments and send contract copies to the lender and title company
  • collect due diligence documents and send disclosures to the parties
  • review the whole file for missing documents
  • collect and receipt for earnest money deposits

They can't independently complete standard forms, and they can't offer opinions, advice or interpretations of them. They also have to tell the other broker, the lender and the consumer that they aren't licensed or aren't acting as a broker, and name the broker they work for.

Pay needs care too. CP-20 warns that paying an unlicensed REAP only when a deal closes may violate RESPA, which bars splitting commissions with unlicensed people. Charging the consumer a separate fee for work that helps the broker meet the broker's own duties may be a second violation. A licensed REAP who starts negotiating inspection items or preparing contracts needs a brokerage relationship with the client.

Which CBS1 deadlines does a Colorado TC track?

Section 3.1 of the CBS1 lists 43 dated items, from the Time of Day Deadline to the Acceptance Deadline Time. None has a default length. The brokers fill in each one, and under §3.2 a deadline left blank or marked N/A deletes the provision that goes with it. A blank appraisal row means there is no appraisal contingency, so read the table line by line.

Main deadline groups in the 2026 CBS1

GroupDeadlinesSection
TitleRecord Title, Off-Record Title, objection and resolution dates§8
Owners' associationAssociation Documents and its termination date§7
Loan and creditNew Loan Application, New Loan Terms, New Loan Availability§5
AppraisalAppraisal, Appraisal Objection, Appraisal Resolution§6
Inspection and due diligenceInspection Termination, Objection and Resolution; due diligence documents§10
Closing and possessionClosing Date, Possession Date and Time§12, §17
From the Commission's CBS1 form (adopted Aug. 5, 2025, mandatory Jan. 1, 2026), read October 28, 2026. Each deadline is a date the parties write in.

The counting rules are in §3.3. A day ends at 11:59 p.m. Mountain Time unless the parties set a Time of Day Deadline, which then governs objection, resolution, examination and termination deadlines. When a period is counted from an event, the first day is excluded and the last included. A deadline that lands on a weekend or holiday moves only if the "Will" box is checked. If neither box is checked, it doesn't move. Our contract deadline calculator and the guide to counting days by contract form walk through the math.

How does closing work in Colorado?

The buyer tenders earnest money with the contract unless the parties agree an Alternative Earnest Money Deadline. The Earnest Money Holder named in §4.3 keeps it in a trust account for both parties and may pass it to the closing company at or before closing.

Unless the buyer-selects box is checked, §8.1.1 has the seller choose the title company, pay for the owner's policy and furnish the title commitment by the Record Title Deadline. Section 12.2 has a box for whether the Commission's Closing Instructions are signed with the contract. At closing, the county clerk and recorder collects the documentary fee: one cent for each $100 of consideration over $500. On a $540,000 sale that is $54.

Which associations and MLSs will a Colorado TC work with?

Colorado REALTORS is the state association. Its monthly reports, prepared by ShowingTime, draw on the Colorado MLSs and cover all MLS-listed residential sales in the state. The Denver Metro Association of REALTORS sources its market reports from the REcolorado MLS.

How is the Colorado market doing?

Colorado REALTORS reported 6,526 closed sales statewide in September 2026, down 15.1% from a year earlier, with a median price of $540,000. The single-family median was $575,000, and townhouses and condos had a $395,000 median. Active inventory stood at 34,824.

Colorado markets, September 2026

AreaMedian priceSales vs Sept. 2025Days on market
Statewide, all residential$540,000Down 15.1% (6,526)Not reported
Seven-county Denver metro$565,000Down 18.7% (3,660)Not reported
Colorado Springs, single-family and patio$479,000Down 9.7% (926)53 on average
Colorado REALTORS September 2026 release, Oct. 13, 2026, prepared by ShowingTime from Colorado MLS data. Excludes for-sale-by-owner sales and some new construction.

Colorado Springs

Colorado Springs gets its own section here rather than its own page. The same CBS1 form, CP-20 rules and documentary fee apply, so a separate page would repeat most of this one. In the Colorado REALTORS release, the Colorado Springs section counted 4,253 active single-family and patio homes in September 2026, up 6.1% from a year earlier.

Sales of those homes fell to 926 from 1,026. The median price was $479,000, against $479,450 a year before, and the average was $545,660. Homes averaged 53 days on market with 4.6 months of inventory. The release also said nearly half of El Paso County listings had a price cut.

What is different about a Colorado file?

Blank means deleted. CBS1 sets no fallback for a missing date. It deletes the provision instead, so a missed blank changes the deal.

Missing a termination notice costs earnest money. In the new loan provision at §5.2.2, if the seller isn't in default and doesn't receive the buyer's written notice to terminate on time, the earnest money becomes nonrefundable, except as the contract otherwise provides. The buyer's inspection termination right under §10.3.1 also ends as soon as the buyer delivers an inspection objection. Those are the two notices to calendar first.

Metro districts. Section 8.4 prints a capital-letter warning that special taxing and metropolitan districts can raise costs for residents. Section 8.5 requires a tax certificate listing those districts by the Record Title Deadline, and the buyer can terminate if it is unsatisfactory.

What does a transaction coordinator cost in Colorado?

Two Colorado coordinating firms publish their prices, and both ask $400 for one side and $700 when they handle both. The 20 one-side cards we found nationally in October 2026 ranged from $300 to $550, with $400 as the median, so the Colorado cards match it. The TC fee per file calculator shows how a per-file fee compares with hiring.

How do you hire a transaction coordinator in Colorado?

Start with CP-20. Ask whether the coordinator is licensed and, if not, how they disclose that to the other side. Ask how they are paid. A per-file fee that depends on closing is the arrangement the Commission flags under RESPA, so talk it through with your managing broker.

Then test them on the form. Hand a candidate an executed CBS1 with a few N/A rows and ask what each deletes. Ask whether weekend deadlines roll on that contract. Our transaction coordinator checklist covers the rest of the interview.

DeedSpring is a technology-based transaction coordinator. It takes the executed CBS1, turns the filled-in rows into a deadline list, rechecks each file on the hour and queues draft emails that go nowhere until the broker approves them. It has no Colorado office or license and doesn't interpret the CBS1 for anyone.

Freelance TC, TC company or DeedSpring: which fits a Colorado agent?

The table sets the usual options side by side. A good freelance TC is worth every dollar on a messy file. What most agents are really paying for, though, is someone who never misses a date and always chases the lender. Software does that on every file at once.

Ways to get transaction coordination in Colorado

DeedSpringFreelance TCOutsourced TC companyIn-house TCVirtual assistant
What you pay$19–$25 per closing, or $15 a month for oneAbout $300–$550 per sideAbout $350–$500 per side, some with monthly minimumsA salary, paid whether or not files closeBy the hour
Who does the workSoftware that reads the contract and drafts the chases for you to approveOne person, often a licensed agentA coordinator from the firm's teamYour own employeeAn assistant you direct task by task
Contract deadlinesSet from the executed contract, with every open file checked hourlyKept in their own calendarKept in the firm's systemKept in yoursYours to set and watch
When volume jumpsAdd closings, with no one to hireCapped by one person's file loadThe firm adds staffYou hire againMore hours
Prices checked October 2026. Two Colorado TC firms publish $400 per side and $700 when coordinating both sides.

To see what the gap means across a year of files, put your numbers into the TC fee per file calculator.

Questions agents ask about transaction coordinators in Colorado

Do you need a license to be a transaction coordinator in Colorado?

No, but Commission Position CP-20 limits what an unlicensed coordinator can do. They may complete forms as a scrivener at a broker's direction, order title and collect earnest money, but cannot independently complete standard forms or interpret them.

What contract do Colorado agents use?

The CBS1 Contract to Buy and Sell Real Estate (Residential), promulgated by the Colorado Real Estate Commission. The current version became mandatory on January 1, 2026.

Do Colorado contract deadlines move if they fall on a weekend?

Only if the parties check the Will box in §3.3.3 of the CBS1. If neither box is checked, the deadline is not extended.

How much does a transaction coordinator cost in Colorado?

Two Colorado TC firms publish $400 per side and $700 for both sides. DeedSpring costs $15 a month for one closing, or $19 to $25 a closing on Standard.

Can a Colorado TC be paid only when a deal closes?

CP-20 warns that closing-contingent pay to an unlicensed REAP may violate RESPA, which bars splitting commissions with unlicensed people. Brokers should check the arrangement with their managing broker.

What is the median home price in Colorado Springs?

Colorado REALTORS reported a $479,000 median for single-family and patio homes in the Colorado Springs area in September 2026, almost unchanged from $479,450 a year earlier.

Compare plans on the DeedSpring pricing page.

More transaction coordinator guides

Close with confidence.

Set up your first transaction in minutes. Your clients get their portal — and your coordinator starts working the file — the moment you do.